Running at Disney

Pongo here.  I am an avid runner.  My wife says that I’m obsessed.  My son says I’m crazy.  As long as it is safe (no lightning, ice, tornado..) I will be outside running most days, even on vacation.  I will be reviewing running at the WDW resorts, Disneyland and Aulani, Disney races, and races that are easily accessible from WDW resorts.  I will also try to provide helpful information on eating healthy while on a Disney vacation.

Today, I am going to give my rankings of the Deluxe/DVC resorts for run quality and review running at the Animal Kingdom Lodge.

1.  Epcot resort:  Yacht & Beach Club, Boardwalk, Swan and Dolphin.

2  Old Key West and Sarasota Springs (these are connected by a path).

3.  Wilderness Lodge and Fort Wilderness

4.  Grand Floridian and Polynesian (connected trails)

5.  Contemporary / Bay Lake Tower

6  Animal Kingdom Lodge / Kidani Village

The Animal Kingdom Lodge and Kidani Village are at the bottom of the list, because there are basically no good places to run, other than the treadmills.  This is a shame as the resort is beautiful with wonderful theming.  The only safe outdoor option is running back and forth along the 1/4 mile path between Animal Kingdom Lodge and Kidani Village.  This is okay for a short 1 or maybe 2 miler, but dreadful for 4 – 6 miles, passing the same real estate 16 – 24 times respectively.  The roads around the resort are NOT SAFE!!  Do not attempt!  I have heard of people running around the parking lot.  This seems pretty boring also and not too safe in my opinion.

Overview:

Pros:  Beautiful resort with great theme, rooms and views.

Cons:  The treadmill is the best running option.

Overall:  I recommend any other WDW property if you plan to run while staying at WDW, unless you are okay with a treadmill.

Leave a Reply

