Pongo’s WDW Parks Quick Service Picks

I love food, but I am frugal (cheap ?). We rarely eat at table service restaurants due to cost, required planning, and time commitment. We have eaten at most of the WDW quick service restaurants. There are certain dishes to which I keep returning. Flavor is the most important thing to me, followed by nutrition.

Here are my my favorite quick service dishes at each Walt Disney World park.

Magic Kingdom: Columbia Harbor House in Liberty Square offers Grilled Salmon with couscous and steamed broccoli. This is not your typical quick service/fast food offering. I love salmon. The salmon is always good, although, it has been on the dry side a couple of times. It is still tasty and nutritious. The couscous and broccoli are both good on their own and pair up well with the salmon. It is a tasty, filling meal that is a step above most quick service options.

Epcot: There are so many choices at Epcot! It is hard to choose just one. My favorite comes from ordering a’ la carte at Boulangerie Patisserie les Halles at the France pavilion. Roly orders the Bisque de Homard (lobster bisque), and I order the Quiche Florentine. We share a Roule Lard et Fromage (bacon and cheese roll). We find a spot to sit and dig in. All are delicious and the combo is filling. The Roule Lard et Fromage is one of my two favorite quick service offering in all of WDW.

Hollywood Studios: DHS has the fewest decent quick service options, in my opinion, while it does have two of my favorite table service restaurants. I hear that Min & Bill’s Dockside Diner has good macaroni dishes, but I have not eaten there. My go-to dish is the Grilled Vegetable Sandwich at Backlot Express. It has basil asiago bread, mushrooms, red pepper, zucchini, tomatoes, watercress, cheese, and sundries tomato pesto. It all goes together well and is quite tasty and filling. Choosing a side of carrots instead of french fries makes this a fairly healthy choice, too.

Animal Kingdom: Slow-cooked Chicken Curry at Tamu Tamu in Africa is delicious, the other of my two favorites. The chicken is tender, perfectly seasoned with mild heat. It is served with jasmine rice and pita wedges which complement the chicken perfectly. i absolutely love it and cannot get enough.

Have you tried any of these? Do you have other favorites?

Pongo

3 thoughts on “Pongo’s WDW Parks Quick Service Picks”

Leave a Reply

