Robin Hood Book to Movie Comparison

robin hood 3

I have recently read what is now my favorite book.  It has even surpassed The Hobbit, which I have for years thought nothing could compare to. You may be thinking, “But Roly, this book is not Disney.  It’s just a book Disney made a movie after.” Yes, I know that is true; but if you read the book you could see how Disney could make a movie after this without even trying. Some Disney movies are based after books with very un-Disneyish things in them (Pinnochio with Jiminy Cricket dying, Cinderella with the sisters eyes getting pecked out[hey, they deserved it.]) This book though, has the same upbeat, carefree tone as the movie. It’s no wonder why it’s called The (Merry) Adventures of Robin Hood.

Each chapter centers around some adventure that Robin Hood goes on, which involves either him being foolish and getting himself in trouble, or him making an utter fool of someone. It has the same feel as the movie, with different adventures that are not exactly connected to one another, but doesn’t include the storyline with Prince John in it. The main villain in the book is the Sheriff of Nottingham.robin1

Now you may not feel the same way I do, since this is not a “masterpiece,” but it is a very fun book and is definitely worth reading.  I will go more deeply into this book at a later time, telling about my favorite parts of it and why.  First I will give you a warning. If you are really into the book and really love the characters or are just determined to read every word (like I was,) don’t read the epilogue. I won’t give the ending away, but the ending is very sad. The book itself still has a satisfying ending. Personally, I don’t like endings.  Even though there never was a second book, I wish it would have been left open. In the movie however, he goes away to who knows where, and could easily continue his adventures. That ending suits me better. There is also no Oo-de-lally, or bunnies in the book. Sad.robin2

I will give my thoughts on the movie at a later time, as this blog was mostly about the book. I will probably get it posted this week, but don’t count on it. I will also give my thoughts on Song of the South, which I managed to watch (despite the very best efforts of protesters all around america) next week. See ya real soon.

Roly

9 thoughts on “Robin Hood Book to Movie Comparison”

  1. What a great idea for a post. I’m also interested in exploring the original stories that these other properties are based off of. Getting down to the origins is quite interesting. It wold of been interesting to get your take and comparison on some other versions of Robin Hood. I know there must be dozens and dozens. But, this was short, sweet and to the point.

    By the way, I never get tired of “The Hobbit” either.

    Like

    1. Thank you. You should definitely check out some of the original stories. I am currently reading the Grimm fairytales, and have read ones like Briar Rose (Sleeping Beauty), Rapunzel, Cinderella, and the Brave Little Tailor. After that I really want to read some “non-Grimm” books like Alice in Wonderland, Peter Pan, and Pinocchio.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear you. I look forward to reading your thoughts on those. I think some of the new versions are interesting. But, knowing the roots is definitely important.

        Like

Leave a Reply

