Song of the South movie review

For all of you who are as big a Disney fan as me, you know Song of the South is banned. I had the luck of finding it on YouTube, and put it on Apple TV. This movie was banned for racism, as it is set on a plantation in the post-Civil War period of America. (This movie is the basis for the Splash Mountain attraction.) First of sotsall, if you are expecting a cartoon about Brer Rabbit and all the other Brer critters (which are seen in Splash Mountain), you’ll be disappointed. Know before watching this movie that it is in fact, about a young boy visiting his rich Grandmothers plantation. On the way, his dad (who grew up there) tells him about Uncle Remus and his tales of Brer Rabbit. Once they arrive, the father immediately leaves for Atlanta (it is implied the mother and father are having marital problems.) Later that night the boy runs away and meets Uncle Remus. That night Uncle Remus then tells him the first tale of Brer Rabbit. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bWyhj7siEY#t=99 He goes on to tell him two more tales throughout the movie, and they all help the boy out in some way or another. The mother eventually gets mad at Uncle Remus and tells him to stop telling the boy stories. (There is no coherent explanation for this, but Uncle Remus says he won’t tell any more stories.) Later, he tells one last story, which yet again helps the boy out, and also stops a little girl from crying. The mom goes gets very upset and tells Uncle Remus to leave the boy alone. Uncle Remus leaves the plantation and it seems the movie will end on a sad note. (I won’t give the ending away completely in case you decide to watch it.) The movie ends up with a great ending and Uncle Remus ends up being the hero. It’s a good story; it’s a shame that the setting makes it offensive to some people. Roly

sots2

10 thoughts on “Song of the South movie review”

  1. I can understand why some would find it offensive as it sets a romantised portrayal of the treatment of black people in the USA after the civil war. You could argue romantism about most movies set in a past era.

    But at the same time I think its a shame that race even comes into it. A kindly grandfatherly man, helps out a small child and tells stories to him to get through a difficult time with his family? There is nothing racist in that IMO.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I remember watching this movie back when I think I was in the second grade. There was a second grade teacher at my school who was old as dirt so I guess that’s why she actually managed to have a copy of the film. From what I recall it was a fairly decent film but it never really could compare to other Disney movies.

    Like

    1. No, it isn’t as good as most of the animated for sure. I am a huge fan of Splash Mountain (the ride in Disney which is based of the movie) and that made it a lot better than i’m sure it would have been otherwise.

      Like

  3. I too saw this movie on Youtube some time ago, although I need to find it and watch it again for my live action Disney blog.

    I personally didn’t feel that this film was that bad in terms of racism or whatnot and personally would like to see this film come off the “banned” list.

    Like

    1. I agree. I understand partially. My son wrote the article btw, but I am commenting. I feel the good outweighs the bad and Uncle Remus is portrayed in a very positive light. It is just historical truth. What is a live action blog? We are new at doing this.

      Like

      1. I have two blogs. One is The Animation Commendation at markb4.wordpress.com which you know of.

        My other blog is my Live Action Disney Project blog at myliveactiondisneyproject.wordpress.com. On that blog, I attempt to watch and review every theatrically-released live-action Disney film ever made!

        Like

      2. That sounds interesting! We will check it out. My son has watched every full-length animated Disney movie ever made and will review several on our blog here. When he gets older he may have his own blog.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

