What to Pack for a Disney Trip

Each time a trip to Disney approaches I get anxious about packing. I don’t want to forget anything and have to pay quadruple at Disney or forget something that can’t be found there (such as medicines). We have been enough and go frequently enough that I actually leave some things packed so as not to have to unpack and re-pack everything. I wanted to give a few tips that may help people in packing to make this part of the trip a little less stressful.

I first set the suitcase out a few days before departure and start putting things in as I think of them. The things I leave packed are: airline-sized toiletries (shampoo, deodorant, toothbrush and toothpaste, hairspray, hair gel, dry shampoo, first-aid kit, mouthwash, facial cleanser, moisturizer, sunscreen). I also leave feminine products, Advil, fanny pack, sun visor, tote bag to use at park, magic bands and my Disney raincoat packed in the suitcase (I don’t use these things at home so it isn’t inconvenient.) ( The one thing I have forgotten several times is sunglasses; which I have had to re-purchase.) I also leave my bathing suit and flip-flops in the suitcase or around the suitcase.

A couple of days before the trip I start to set out medicines (both prescription and a few non-prescription), snacks (much cheaper than buying them at Disney World), clothing (more on this later), reading material, charger for iPhone and iPad, iPad cover, camera with case, vitamins, etc.

The clothing is dependent on when the trip is planned but we tend to visit in cooler weather so I always pack a range of weights of clothing. Orlando also happens to be very unpredictable with the weather forecast with respect to rain, cold fronts, winds, etc. so I pack with this in mind. I always pack a light jacket, sweater, and usually a sweatshirt. I pack warm-weather clothing and sandals even in December because you never know when a warm day will occur.

I try to remember to get money out of the bank so as not to go on the trip broke, but I have made the mistake of forgetting and Disney’s magic band and a credit card makes the cash not absolutely necessary.

Last minute things I pack the morning of the trip are make-up, curling iron, comb, and my night clothes. I have tried making a list and checking it twice but I have this down to a science and haven’t needed it for some time. I hope this method I have acquired helps some people.

4 thoughts on “What to Pack for a Disney Trip”

  1. I make out a detailed list of EVERYTHING I need to take on the trip for myself and my daughter, and I make a list for my husband. As I pack, I check off everything on the list for myself and my daughter. It helps me stay organized. The night before we leave and the morning we leave, I go back over the list to make sure I didn’t miss anything. I also start to pack several days before we leave. The more organized you are, the less likely it is you’ll forget something. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

